BRQ | Vantaa Festival

Æstus: Elo

WEDNESDAY 9.8.2023 20:00 - 21:30
The Church of St Lawrence Reittiopas

Ilkka Eronen, traverso

Laura Hárs, violin

Johanna Randvere, cello and viola da gamba

Aura Visala, harpsichord

The programme for Æstus' debut with BRQ Vantaa literally started from scratch, as it was built around a work that did not yet exist. At the time, the only clue that composer Tytti Arola gave to the work being premiered was the title of the composition, Elo (Fin: living or life), and its reference to elokuu (Fin: August) and life in general.

This clue resulted in a programme of music which, on the one hand, is vague and ambiguous, ambiguous, transitional or otherwise elusive, and on the other, very clear and understandable, as life sometimes is. In the first half of the concert, the slowly materialising chordal hum of Senaillé's sonata, the soft flute sounds of Callen's composition, the ringing overtones of Tiensuu's Musica ambigua, the frictional wailing and fierce growling, the wrenching dissonances of Marais's lament and Rebel's lovesick sweet-talk form a dreamlike, obscure, oppressive, happy and strange whole. The second half awakens from the absurd dream world of Telemann's Paris Quartet to a fresh but in places even more absurd reality, the August celebration sparked by the realisation of the finiteness of summer (and life?). The concert concludes with Janitsch's bright and sad (mesto) quartet and Telemann's sweet polonaise and wild gigue dance.

Jean-Baptiste Senaillé (1687–1730): Largo from Sonata in G minor for violin and basso continuo, Op. 1 No. 6 (1710)
Jukka Tiensuu (1948–): Musica Ambigua III: Sleepwalk (1996-1998)
Marin Marais (1656–1728): Plainte in G minor from Pièces en trio (1692)
Lucy Callen (1987–): Grandmother's footsteps (2023)
Jean-Féry Rébél (1666–1747): Air pour l'Amour from the symphony Les Éléments (1737)
Jukka Tiensuu: Musica Ambigua V: Kitkat
Jukka Tiensuu: Musica Amgibua VI: Veto

Georg Philipp Telemann (1681–1767): Prelude, Vivement and Tendrement from the first quartet from the collection Nouveaux Quatuors en six suites (1738)
Tytti Arola (1990–): Elo (premiere)
Johann Gottlieb Janitsch (1708–1762): Adagio e Mesto from the chamber sonata in D major, Op. 5 No. 1 (IJJ 22)
Georg Philipp Telemann: Modérement and Vite from the first quartet from the collection Nouveaux Quatuors en six suites


Normal price: 25€
Pensioners: 20€
Other concession groups: 10€

Festival pass (incl. all 10 concerts with admission)

Normal priced: 250€
Pensioners: 200€
Other concession groups: 80€

Buy your festival pass here, limited amount!

Note! The above ticket prices include the Biletti service fee of 1-2€, which is added at the cashier.

  • Discounted tickets are available for: students, unemployed, children under 15 years of age and those performing military or civil service.
  • There is a separate ticket for pensioners.
  • A personal assistant is admitted free of charge.

BRQ on Facebook BRQ on Instagram BRQ on YouTube BRQ on X