BRQ | Vantaa Festival

Aapo Häkkinen: Die Kunst der Fuge

TUESDAY 15.8.2023 18:00 - 19:00
The Church of St Lawrence Reittiopas
Aapo Häkkinen harpsichord

Die Kunst der Fuge (The Art of Fugue) BWV 1080 is Johann Sebastian Bach's unfinished work, completed by his sons after the composer's death. The name of the collection is also of later origin; Bach himself called the separate pieces of the collection contrapunctus. The collection contains Bach's explorations of what can be done around a single theme. Parts 1 to 11 of the work use the same fugue theme, reversed, condensed and combined in various ways. After the 13 contrapunctus fugues, the collection contains four canons, an unfinished triple fugue with Bach's 'signature', the notes B-A-C-H, as one of its themes. This programme features Aapo Häkkinen's selection from the collection Die Kunst der Fuge.

Johann Sebastian Bach
Die Kunst der Fuge, BWV 1080

Contrapunctus 1
Contrapunctus 3
Contrapunctus 2
Contrapunctus 4

Canon alla Decima (alla Terza)
Canon alla Duodecima (alla Quinta)

Contrapunctus 5
Contrapunctus 9 (alla Duodecima)
Contrapunctus 10 (alla Decima)

Canon in Hypodiapason (alla Ottava)
Canon in Hypodiatesseron (per Augmentationem in Contrario Motu)

Contrapunctus 6 (per Diminutionem in Stylo Francese)
Contrapunctus 7 (per Augmentationem et Diminutionem)
Contrapunctus 8
Contrapunctus 11

BRQ on Facebook BRQ on Instagram BRQ on YouTube BRQ on X