BRQ | Vantaa Festival

Bass arias by J.S. Bach

The second Bach Day concert will feature bass arias and recitatives from church cantatas and the Candlemas hit BWV 82 "Ich habe genug". The concert begins with a symphony from the Weimar period cantata BWV 21 "Ich hatte viel Bekümmernis". This is followed by arias and recitatives from Bach's Easter cantatas from the Leipzig period. Bach originally composed the cantata BWV 56 "Ich will den Kreuztab gerne tragen" for soprano, probably for his second wife Anna Magdalena Bach in 1726, and in 1732 he arranged it for bass voice, which is the version that is most often performed today. Also from the Leipzig period are the cantatas BWV 159 and BWV 37, on which we hear arias and a recitative. Bach's shortest cantata, BWV 158, contains an aria and the chorale 'Welt, ade, ich bin dien müde'. The cantata is probably from the Weimar period. The cantata BWV 82 for bass voice and oboe soloists 'Ich habe genug' was written in Leipzig in 1727 to the story of Candlemas, in which old Simeon says he is ready to go after seeing Jesus. Bach later made versions of the cantata also for soprano or tenor soloist and flute.

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750):
Sinfonia in C minor (Cantata BWV 21)

Aria: Wo gehest Du hin (Cantata BWV 166)
Recitative: Mein Wandel aus der Welt (Cantata BWV 56)
Aria: Es ist vollbracht (Cantata BWV 159)

Recitative: Der Friede sei mit dir (Cantata BWV 158)
Aria and und Choral: Welt, ade, ich bin dien müde (Cantata BWV 158)

Recitative: Ihr Sterblichen, verlanget ihr mit mir (Cantata BWV 37)
Aria: Der Glaube schafft der Seele Flügel (Cantata BWV 37)
Andante two violins and continuo in d minor BWV 527 (Trio Sonata No. 3 originally for organ)

Cantata “Ich habe genug" BWV 82
Aria: Ich habe genug
Recitative: Ich habe genug
Aria: Schlummert ein, ihr matten Augen
Recitative: Mein Gott! wenn kömmt das schöne: Nun!
Aria: Ich freue mich auf meinen Tod

Normal price: 35€
Pensioners: 30€
Other concession groups: 10€

Bundle ticket to same day concerts:
Sun 13.8. at 19-20 // Arrangements of music of Johann Sebastian Bach
Sun 13.8. at 20.30-21.30 // Bass arias by J.S. Bach
Both in St Lawrence Church, Vantaa

Bundle ticket prices:

Normal price: 50€
Pensioners: 40€
Other concession groups: 17€

Festival pass (incl. all 10 concerts with admission)

Normal priced: 250€
Pensioners: 200€
Other concession groups: 80€

Buy your festival pass here, limited amount!

Note! The above ticket prices include the Biletti service fee of 1-2€, which is added at the cashier.

  • Discounted tickets are available for: students, unemployed, children under 15 years of age and those performing military or civil service.
  • There is a separate ticket for pensioners.
  • A personal assistant is admitted free of charge.

BRQ on Facebook BRQ on Instagram BRQ on YouTube BRQ on X