BRQ | Vantaa Festival

Rosetta Ensemble: Layers

THURSDAY 10.8.2023 19:00 - 20:15
Tikkurila Church Reittiopas
Rosetta Ensemble

Sunniva Fagerlund, recorder
Anthony Marini, violin
Markku Mäkinen, organ

In the Rosetta Ensemble's programme "Layers", middle Baroque meets new music. The music reflects life, diversity and different levels of emotions and their vibrations - regardless of the century. The ensemble's instruments shine both alone and together. In the trio works, the rich colouring possibilities of the large organ add further layers and new dimensions to the story.

The programme includes church and chamber sonatas by the great composers of the middle Baroque period, solo violin sonatas by the "Swedish Handel" J.H. Roman, whose four untitled movements resemble a chamber sonata. The programme also features an experimental fantasy by Telemann and a dramatic fantasia and a fugue with a light-hearted theme by J.S. Bach, and a trio sonata of which Bach also wrote an organ solo version for his eldest son. In between the middle Baroque works, there will be newer compositions by Jukka Tiensuu, Einar Engelund, Tore Bjørn Larsen and the premiere of a work commissioned by the Rosetta Ensemble from Cecilia Damström.

Georg Friederich Händel (1685—1759): Trio Sonata in G minor, Op. 5, No. 5, HWV 400 (1739)
Largo - Come alla breve – Larghetto - A tempo giusto – Air - Bourrée
Johan Helmich Roman (1694—1758): Assaggio in A major, BeRI 301 (c. 1730–40)
Jukka Tiensuu (1948-): Musica ambigua (1998), Möbius
Georg Philipp Telemann (1681—1767): Fantasia in G major, TWV 40:10 (c. 1733)
Affettuoso – Allegro - Grave - Vivace
Cecilia Damström (1988-): Värähtelyjä (vibrations) (2021) premiere
Leikkisyys – Apatia - Pelko ja viha - Olemassaolon tyyneys
Johann Sebastian Bach (1685—1750): Fantasia in G minor, BWV 542/1 (c. 1717–23)
Tore Bjørn Larsen (1957-): “In saeculorum...” Ciacona per Flauto dolce e Organino (1998)
J.S. Bach: Fugue in G minor, BWV 542/2 (c. 1717-23)
Einar Englund (1916 — 1999): Arioso interrotto (1979)
J.S. Bach: Trio Sonata No. 6 in G major, BWV 530 (c. 1730)
Vivace - Lento - Allegro

Normal price: 25€
Pensioners: 20€
Other concession groups: 10€

Bundle ticket to same day concerts:
Thu 10.8. at 19-20 // Rosetta Ensemble: Layers
Thu 10.8. at 20.30-21.30 //
Samppa Laakso: Principali
Both in Tikkuril Church, Vantaa

Bundle ticket prices:

Normal price: 40€
Pensioners: 30€
Other concession groups: 17€

Festival pass (incl. all 10 concerts with admission)

Normal priced: 250€
Pensioners: 200€
Other concession groups: 80€

Buy your festival pass here, limited amount!

Note! The above ticket prices include the Biletti service fee of 1-2€, which is added at the cashier.

  • Discounted tickets are available for: students, unemployed, children under 15 years of age and those performing military or civil service.
  • There is a separate ticket for pensioners.
  • A personal assistant is admitted free of charge.

BRQ on Facebook BRQ on Instagram BRQ on YouTube BRQ on X