BRQ | Vantaa Festival

Phantasm: The Well-Tempered Consort – Music by J.S. Bach

WEDNESDAY 17.8.2022 18:00 - 20:00
Tikkurila Church Reittiopas

Laurence Dreyfus, treble viol, leader
Emilia Benjamin, treble viol
Jonathan Manson, viola da gamba
Heidi Gröger, bass viol
Markku Luolajan-Mikkola, bass viol

In the festival's epilogue concert, the internationally acclaimed band Phantasm tries to get "inside Bach's head". The programme aims to make concrete within Bach’s glorious polyphony not only his vast range of references to arias, concertos, dances, sonatas but also as string players to engage with the astounding variety of characters, styles and emotions lurking beneath the surface of the notes. Even for those familiar with this repertoire from the keyboard will be astounded at how the clarity of lines audible on the viols that seems to result in new works penned by Bach’s genius.

Sinfonia 9 (Inventionen) BWV 795
Praeludium und Fuga 19 (WtCl I) BWV 864

Kyrie Gott heiliger Geist BWV 674
Vater unser im Himmelreich BWV 737
Fuga a5 (Clavierübung III) BWV 552
Wir glauben all an einen Gott (Clavierübung III) BWV 680
Pièce d'Orgue BWV 572

Praeludium und Fuga 5 (WtCl II), BWV 874
Kyrie, Gott Heiliger Geist (Clavierübung III) BWV 671
Praeludium und Fuga 22 (WtCl II) BWV 891


Jesus Christus unser Heiland (Clavierübung III) BWV 689
Fuga 17 (WtCl II) BWV 886
Praeludium und Fuga 22 (WtCl I) BWV 867
Fuga 7 (WtCl II) BWV 876

Fuga 17 (WtCl I) BWV 862
Fuga 4 (WtCl I) BWV 849

Praeludium und Fuga 7 (WtCl I) BWV 852
Praeludium und Fuga 16 (WtCl II) BWV 885
Fughetta super: Dies sind die heiligen zehn Gebot (Clavierübung III) BWV 679
Fuga C Major BWV 547

Normal price: 18€
Pensioners: 13€
Other concession groups: 10€

Note! Ticket prices are subject to a Ticketmaster handling fee of 1,00-2,50 € and an order fee of 1,50 €.

Photo: Marco Borggreve
Photo: Marco Borggreve

BRQ on Facebook BRQ on Instagram BRQ on YouTube BRQ on X