BRQ | Vantaa Festival

Boccherini vs. Haydn

The Austrian Franz Joseph Haydn (1732–1809) is considered a major innovator of instrumental music, especially the string quartet. The Italian-Spanish composer Luigi Boccherini (1743–1805), on the other hand, is said to have taken the development of chamber music begun by Haydn a step further – or several steps, as far as the role of the cello is concerned. Boccherini was himself a cellist, which may explain the important role of the cello in Boccherini's chamber music, in contrast to Haydn's chamber music works, in which the cello mostly plays an accompanying role. This concert will feature the popular music of his time, light sonata-like divertimentos for chamber ensemble, as well as Boccherini's beloved Spanish-influenced Fandango and Cello Sonata in A major, which the composer reworked at least twice, three different versions of which have survived.

Joseph Haydn (1732-1809): Divertimento (Cassatio) G major Hob.II:1

  • Allegro
  • Andante moderato
  • Menuet & Trio
  • Thema La Fantasia, Moderato

Luigi Boccherini (1743-1805): Fandango string quintet

  • Grave
  • Tempo di fandango
  • Minuetto ja trio

Luigi Boccherini: Sonata in A for cello

  • Allegro 
  • Adagio
  • Affettuoso

Joseph Haydn: Divertimento in C, Hoboken II: 11 (der Geburtstag)

  • Presto
  • Andante Mann und Weib
  • Menuet – Trio
  • Theme and 7 Variations, Moderato

Normal price: 18€
Pensioners: 12€
Other concession groups: 10€

Bundle ticket to same day concerts:
Ma 8.8. at 19-20 // Boccherini vs. Haydn
Ma 8.8. at 20.30-21.30 // Concerto evening
Both at St Lawrence Church, Vantaa

Normal price: 26€
Pensioners: 18€
Other concession groups: 15€

Note! Ticket prices are subject to a Ticketmaster handling fee of 1,00-2,50 € and an order fee of 1,50 €.

Julius Pyrhönen, Max Nyman, Sirkka-Liisa Kaakinen-Pilch, Sue-Ying Koang & Johanna Randvere
Julius Pyrhönen, Max Nyman, Sirkka-Liisa Kaakinen-Pilch, Sue-Ying Koang & Johanna Randvere

BRQ on Facebook BRQ on Instagram BRQ on YouTube BRQ on X